Solid mustard colored tile

Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

Education Requirements for the States of Nevada and Utah

These are the courses you need to renew your Real Estate license.

As a real estate professional, there are defined amounts of continuing education that must be completed depending the respective state that you’re licensed in. These education requirements are administered by the respective divisions and state laws.

Post licensing/Continuing education, besides being required by law in most states, is extremely important and valuable to licensees. It’s designed to provide an increased knowledge of practices and procedures, specific laws, ethics and professionalism.

The summary of continuing education requirements for the state of Nevada and Utah are listed below.

Nevada Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

Find out what courses are required to renew a Nevada Real Estate License.

HAVE YOU BEEN LICENSED LESS THAN 1 YEAR?
New licensed real estate professionals must complete 30 hours Post-Licensing education within the first year after obtaining their real estate license. The proof of completion must be submitted to the Nevada Real Estate Division. The post-licensing education requirements examine the practical application of the real estate transaction process.

ALL SUBSEQUENT RENEWALS
Nevada Revised Statues and Administrative codes require sales agents who have completed their first year in business and their first renewal, to complete 24 hours of continuing education within the next two years of the renewal cycle. The 24 hours of continuing education consists of Agency, Contracts, Law & Legislation, and Ethics and 12 hours of general credit. 12 hours of instruction must be in a live setting. The renewal cycle is every two years thereafter.

Utah Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

Find out what courses are required to renew a Utah Real Estate License?

HAVE YOU BEEN LICENSED LESS THAN 2 YEARS?
New licensed real estate professionals are required to take the 12 Hour New Agent Course, 3- Hour Mandatory Residential course, and 3 hours of additional continuing education courses. The additional 3 hours of CE can be core or general credit, depending on the real estate agents’ preference.

ALL SUBSEQUENT RENEWALS
Utah real estate licenses are valid for two years. To renew a license, real estate professionals must complete 18 hours of continuing education (CE) courses. 9 out of the 18 required education hours must be core credit, and 3 of the 9 core education hours must be the division approved, 3-hour mandatory residential course. The remaining 9 hours can be general credit.


Solid dark cray colored tile

Nevada 90 Day Renewal Extension- COVID 19 Guidance

The Nevada Real Estate Division has issued temporary licensing guidance in Response to COVID-19.  This authorizes Nevada licensees with renewals between March 15 and May 31 to have a 90 day extension.  See official notification below:

The Nevada Real Estate Division is working to support and respond to the needs and concerns of our Real Estate community. The Division has been monitoring the situation in Nevada through the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) and its page dedicated to the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

In an abundance of caution, the Division is granting real estate licensees renewing between March 15 and May 31, 2020 a temporary 90-day extension to complete the live-instruction portion of their continuing education requirement. First-time licensees completing post-licensing education with upcoming renewals between March 15 and May 31, 2020 will also be allowed a 90-day extension.

Licensees are still required to renew their licenses by submitting a completed renewal form and paying renewal fees with the Division on or before their regular renewal date. At renewal, licensees will be provided an extension letter by the Division for the remaining education to be completed by live instruction. Licensees will be required to submit certificates of attendance for the remaining live-instruction education within the 90-day extension period.

We understand that this is an active and evolving situation and the Division will provide further guidance as necessary and appropriate. Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact the Division directly at (702) 486-4033.

For updates on COVID-19, please visit your local health authority’s website, the CDC, or the Nevada State Division of Public and Behavioral Health.


Solid light blue colored tile

When Will My Continuing Education (CE) Hours Be Registered With The State?

We know that getting your CE credits registered with the appropriate real estate governing body is very important. We will ensure that you receive credit associated for each continuing education course that you have completed assuming that we have your contact information and License Number. Our school policy is to register CE hours each Monday and Thursday with the appropriate Real Estate division. Most states allow real estate schools up to 10 business days to bank the hours with the Division of Real Estate.

We can only register your course hours if we have your Real Estate License number in your profile settings in ARTI® Academics. If we do not have your real estate license number in the ARTI Academics profile setting, it will delay the processing as we will need to contact you for additional information.


Solid dark blue colored tile

What is the organizational structure of the courses?

The courses on ARTI® Academics are intentionally developed to create a climate where it fosters engagement and interactivity. We want our students to make personal connections to the material that is being taught. Our goal is to draw connections between the content that is being presented and align those key concepts with real life examples. The real estate courses are presented with video learning, quizzes, and slides. We are determined to always provide courses that are high quality with expert instructors and presented in an engaging manner.


Solid red colored tile

What is the difference between a real estate broker and a real estate agent?

While the terms Real Estate Broker and Real Estate Agent are often used interchangeably in Utah and Nevada, they are very different. A Real Estate Agent is an individual who has completed Real Estate School, either online or in person. They also must complete certain background checks and be approved by the State governing body.  This authorizes them to help buyers and sellers complete real estate transactions under the supervision of a Real Estate Broker. A Real Estate Broker has not only completed the requirements to become an Agent, but must also complete 120 more hours of formal education in addition to work experience. Because they are a Broker, they are eligible to open a Real Estate Brokerage and have Agents (and other Broker's) affiliate with their organization.  In the State of Utah, a Broker can be responsible for up to three real estate offices.

So is a being a Broker better than an Agent?

No.  What makes someone great in the real estate isn't dependent on that 120 hours of additional seat time or the title next to their name.  In fact, many agents are better than their brokers at selling real estate.  A great agent is someone that listens to their clients needs and helps them achieve their goals! A great Real Estate Brokerage, however, can make any agent, no matter their skill level, shine above their peers by providing superior marketing, technology, education, research, and support.